Easy Hand Painted Wine Glasses

You can’t have wine charms without wine glasses. I was inspired by Hannah from Eat, Drink, and Save Money to decorate wine glasses to give as party favors for the bachelorette party. Plus, can you imagine how cute we would all look sipping wine from matching glasses in the hot tub?

You can come up with any design to use. I decided I wanted somewhere to say “Napa 2014” and have various sizes and colors of dots.

Here is what I used:

  • wine glasses (I used Dollartree but you can go as expensive or as cheap as you’d like!)
  • Apple Barrel Gloss paint. Make sure the paint is okay for use on glass surfaces. I like Apple Barrel because it’s non-toxic.
  • rubbing alcohol
  • cotton balls
  • dotting tools (I used the back of a round sponge but a pencil eraser works too.)
Apple Barrel Gloss Paint
First, wash your glassware to remove any residue. Then clean the glass with rubbing alcohol and a couple cotton balls.
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
This will allow the paint to adhere to the glass. I thought I could use one of my round sponges but the dots came out way bigger than I wanted. Luckily if you don’t like your design, you can wash it off with soap and water and start over again. I started over and used the wooden dowel of my round sponge.
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
I added dots at the bottom of the glass and as I worked my way up, I spaced the dots.
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
I made sure some dots overlapped. I think it gives the design some dimension. Continue to add dots leaving about 1 inch from the rim of the glass untouched. Although the paint is non-toxic, I left a section untouched so the paint will last longer.
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
I wrote in “Napa 2014” using an old dried up pen (a pencil or even a flat toothpick works just as well) dipped in black paint. Let dry for 15 minutes.
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
If you’d like you can flip the glass upside down and paint the bottom of the wine stem. I’m not sure if I like the bottoms painted or plain so I made half and half and the girls can pick.
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
After you have finished and are satisfied with your design, place your glass upside down and place it into your cold oven. Check your paint brand’s website to see if it gives you tips on how to cure your design. Apple Barrel suggests baking for 30 minutes at 350 degrees to seal your design.
Easy Hand Painted Wine Glass Tutorial
10 thoughts on “Easy Hand Painted Wine Glasses

Leave a Reply

