Quilling Birthday Card


Quilling Birthday Card

Quilling is a simple but time consuming craft. You have to twirl thin strips of colored paper around a special wand (the wand has a small slit at one edge), let the roll of paper slightly unravel, and use glue to hold it together. You then pinch parts of the roll of paper to create different shapes. To glue them onto the paper, place glue on a piece of paper and with a toothpick, add glue to the backside and press firmly on card stock. The design I used came from the picture inside the Twirling Paper Kit. I wanted to make a special birthday card. I picked  ice cream for her because every time we get together we end up eating sweets! We’ve had mini cheesecakes, Vietnamese desserts, frozen yogurt, and most recently, ice cream sandwich from CREAM. Ice cream is also a fitting dessert for a birthday! I followed the image in the book and used pink paper to make “strawberry” ice cream instead of brown for “chocolate.”

Quilling Birthday Card

 

Quilling Birthday Card

Quilling Birthday Card

Quilling Birthday Card

Quilling Birthday Card

Quilling Birthday Card

 

Quilling Birthday Card

Quilling Birthday Card

 

What are some of your favorite paper crafts?

6 thoughts on “Quilling Birthday Card

  1. Very pretty quilling! I love quilling too (among other things) and I’m happy to see it becoming “in” again! Yeah! Thanks for visiting my blog! I am currently working on a tutorial to make some paper flowers! They’re adorable and you make lots of fun arts & crafts with them! Please stop by & check it out!

      • Hi Kim! I have finished & posted my tut on making paper flowers. I also posted some of the things I’ve made using paper flowers! Hope you stop by again & check it out!
        I love your nails, I really enjoy seeing all the different kinds & colors of polish! I don’t do my nails, I am always getting them dirty of painty or something so it wouldn’t work well for me. But, seeing yours is a great way for me to see what’s up with nail art.
        Thanks, Bridget ;>}

Leave a Reply

