Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Along with my floral nails, I made floral cookies to go with the garden-themed baby shower. The shower was really great with everything floral! The mom-to-be’s sister (also a good friend of mine) created paper flowers to use as party decor. One of my faves was the large paper flowers for the photobooth.

IMG_6700

IMG_6703

After a semi-successful first attempt with royal icing for the Lingerie Cookies, I wanted to try again. But this time, I upped the ante when I found the floral brush embroidery cookies through a Google search. I cannot find the same tutorial I used but here is a similar one at Glorious Treats and much prettier than what I ended up with! I was going to rewrite the instructions but Glorious Treats pretty much spelled out everything!

I used a sugar cookie recipe and placed it in the fridge for a few hours to harden.

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Then I rolled it out on a glass surface with flour/powdered sugar to prevent it from being too sticky. Using a glass cup, I cut out circles. (I know, I should probably get a round cookie cutter one of these days).

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

I baked the cookies, let them cool and created the royal icing.

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

I wanted three colors for the shower and thought green, pink, and purple would be great and unknowingly matched the main colors of the baby shower. Remember, when dying the icing, a little goes a long way. I forgot, and that’s why my green turned out much brighter than I wanted. I’m still learning how to outline and flood my cookies. Not very flawless…

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

After they dried, I piped white icing on the cookies and using a moist, clean paint brush, I dragged the royal icing into the center. You can see how I struggled with the wetness of the paintbrush.

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

And here they are at the baby shower!

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

7 thoughts on “Floral Brush Embroidery Cookies

Leave a Reply

